pockysquirrel: (facepalm)
 So my contact lens appointment happened, and...fuck, I don't even have anything funny to say about this. It was not funny. It was unpleasant and frustrating, and after roughly 40 minutes of attempting unsuccessfully to get a contact lens into my eye I wound up leaving and crying in my car. 

Yay.

So here we are, less than three months until the con, and not only do I not have a costume, I also would not be able to SEE anything in my costume if it did exist.

While I appreciate and am heartened by all the cheerleading these posts have gotten, my persistence is beginning to wear thin.

At this point, I've decided to give the molding one more shot since I have all the supplies anyway. I may or may not give the contacts another shot; part of me is inclined to say "fuck it, I'll be blind for a few hours, cosplay is not about comfort" because the entire thing was just that traumatic. 

And this post is so much less witty than the other ones. Sorry, folks. 
pockysquirrel: (facepalm)
 Ha. Hahahahaha.

Fuck.

Back of head mold was so glued to the wig head that I broke both of them trying to get it off.

Front of head mold grew a bunch of MOTHERFUCKING BLACK MOLD on the inside over the past week.

Both are now in the trash and I am back to square one.

Again. 

Really not sure how to proceed from here. Make another go with the paper mache? Try a different material? 

My knee-jerk reaction is to want to return all the other supplies I bought last weekend and abandon this project entirely.

See guys, this is why I don't do 'real' cosplay.
pockysquirrel: (facepalm)
 All right, so, a lot's been going down in PR-land of late, that shouldn't be news to anyone. And I have a lot of feels about it, that also shouldn't be a surprise. My opinions are unpopular. I'm going to talk about them anyway. 

Sure, it's mad shitty how Saban is handling this whole situation. I won't dispute that. But it is even shittier how a large chunk of the fandom is handling it. I won't say 'everyone' because I know that's not true. But a large enough chunk to give the fandom as a whole the type of representation that I don't like. Sure, it's okay to be disappointed that this character or that one won't be appearing in Super Megaforce. And it's okay to be upset with some of the decisions Saban is making. It is NOT okay to act like you're entitled to the cameos you want to see and that an actor's decision to not participate is of some kind of personal offense to you. It's like some of these fans are failing to realize that actors are ACTUAL FUCKING PEOPLE, with actual lives and actual legitimate reasons for making the decisions they make. They do NOT exist at the fandom's beck and call. They don't OWE us cameos, they don't OWE us convention appearances, THEY DON'T OWE US A GODDAMN THING and we should be nothing less than GRATEFUL for any time out of their lives that they decide to take to interact with us. 

And all entitled douchebaggery aside, I am actually glad to hear that some of these characters - Rocky and Billy in particular - won't be seen in Super Megaforce. Why? Because given what we know about how these characters have been handled in the past, coupled with the general quality of writing and characterization in the series right now, there is absolutely NO WAY that canon would do justice to what I want for these characters and their post-series lives. We have already seen evidence that the series does not know how to treat these characters right, and Steve Cardenas came right out and said he was dissatisfied with the amount of character development he would have been offered in a Super Megaforce appearance. I respect him greatly for taking that into consideration, especially since I'm sure it's come to his attention over the past decade that, had he actually appeared in Forever Red, he would've been relegated to the role of Tommy's butler. We all dodged a bullet when that failed to become canon, and I shudder to think what might have become of Rocky this time around. Billy, meanwhile, was subjected to the biggest shitshow of a send-off there ever was, and while I'll grant that they had to come up with a cover for his sudden departure, they could easily have done better. 

But what might or might not have become of Billy in canon is not the most important factor to consider here. David Yost has publically shared what his experience working on PR was like, and having heard his story, not only do I not fault him for deciding not to return, I applaud him for the decision. I don't claim to know the man beyond what he has chosen to share with the world through his general public presence in the fandom, and through having met him at NPS Live, but based on the things he has chosen to share, I would not even be able to enjoy a Billy cameo because I would be too busy worrying about David's emotional state. I can easily ignore most of fandom's cameo-related whining. But I will personally tear anyone I catch complaining about this decision a brand new asshole. 

(Once again, that man manages to bring out the absolute worst of my fangirl tendencies.)

(Also, I would like to say that I think the Tweet in which he announced his decision may be the single most masterfully composed Tweet I have ever seen. THE POTSHOT ABOUT THERE BEING POOR GRAMMAR IN THE INVITATION EMAIL. PURE. GOLD.)

So that's my 25 or so cents on the matter. Hopefully this post has worked all the bile out of my system. If there's any left, maybe I'll throw together a rant about how wrong everything about Star Trek Into Darkness has turned out to be. I hope that doesn't become necessary. 

...It's a sad day in Pocky-land when I look at my online life and realize that Transformers is the least dysfunctional of my fandoms right now. How does that even happen?

On a lighter but largely related note, I am now in possession of the Holy Grail my very own Legacy Morpher, and it is THE BEST TOY IN THE HISTORY OF TOYS. I can't put it down because holding the damn thing is so immensely satisfying. Quite possibly the best 60 bucks I've ever spent. 
pockysquirrel: (facepalm)
TL;DR, life sucks lately, and the base reason for that is that I have a failboat gallbladder that is going to be surgically evicted from my body in two days. Given that I have a pretty high level of medical anxiety to begin with and zero experience with this sort of thing, I am freaking the fuck out. I mean, come on. I have never had ANY type of surgery before. I still have my wisdom teeth because I found out nitrous oxide doesn't work on me and then had a panic attack in the chair when they went to take them out. The first time I had so much as an IV was when I went to the ER and found out my gallbladder sucks in the first place! And now they are about to remove one of my organs? Yes sir, I am freaking out. Damn right I am freaking out.

But my whining and misery are not the real point of this post, believe it or not. The point is that when I am post-op, doped up on pain meds and rooted to my couch for the following 4 or 5 days, I am going to be super bored. Help me, friends list; you're my only hope. I need you to rec me things. Rec me those awesome super-long fics that I never have time to read. Rec me those shows on Netflix that I would probably really enjoy but have never gotten around to watching. I'm posting this now in hopes of having a good, solid list of stuff by surgery day. I will be a captive audience for almost a week. Coming out on the other side with a new fandom or two would truly be making the best of a shitty situation.

And have I mentioned lately that I love you guys? Just saying. <3<3<3

Profile

pockysquirrel: (Default)
Pocky Squirrel

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 10:44 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios